Unit 6 Evaluation

Unit 6 Evaluation

I have been researching for my next steps after the Foundation Art Diploma that I am currently studying. I am wanting to go to university and want to make the correct choice. I am interested in studying Textile Design and Interior Design so have conducted research into the relevant ones. I want to stay close enough to home yet far enough to be able to live in the university halls. Out of the research I have done and after visiting the UCAS fare I have been drawn to the following universities: Leeds College of Art, Manchester Metropolitan university, Huddersfield and Bath Spa. All of these courses have brilliant facilities and are within 1 and a half hours away from home. I went to visit some of the universities on open days and feel I have made a good choice for my future. I have had to under go a few steps before applying including drafting for a personal statement, putting together a portfolio and completing the UCAS application form. The cost of sending my application was £23. I have now heard back from all of my university choices for interviews. Those include Huddersfield for Interior Design on Monday the 15th of February. Leeds College of Art for Printed textiles and Surface design on Wednesday the 2nd of March. Manchester Metropolitan for Textiles in Practice on Wednesday the 16th of March and finally Huddersfield for Textile Design on Monday the 12th April. I have taken the decision to decline the bath spa interview as it was to far to travel and despite the course seeming very good and highly renewed I am not wanting to go here. The portfolio preparation is a very tedious process and I am finding photographing my work and mounting it a time consuming process. I feel very apprehensive for my upcoming interviews, mainly because of the pressure I am feeling having to discuss and talk about my work to people that will be judging me and watching my every move.

Leave a comment